Listening to Prince Outside Berryville, Virginia and the Last Poem I’ll Ever Write About Godzilla

Photograph by Jose Padua
Driving this winding
country road I
half expect
that when I get past
the next curve
in the woods and
enter a clearing
I’ll see Godzilla,
towering over the horizon,
his eyes blazing,
flames shooting out
from between his jagged-tooth jaws
as he destroys
a pretty red barn
and a quaint little farmhouse
with one grand sweep
of his massive tail,
but instead I just turn
the volume up
on the car stereo
because a Prince song
has started playing
and the world is spinning
beautifully once again.

-Jose Padua

Photograph by Jose Padua

5 responses to “Listening to Prince Outside Berryville, Virginia and the Last Poem I’ll Ever Write About Godzilla

  1. Jessie Martinovic

    does ‘half expect’ mean ‘actually imagine’, because I will laugh twice as hard if you do the latter.

  2. Pingback: clarkmaria32

Leave a Reply

