We Are Family and Other Ways of Approaching the Concept of Time

Photograph by Jose Padua
When my daughter says she has a presentation to do
for her junior high school science class on how the
chicken may be a direct descendent of the dinosaur
I tell her I have just the thing for her to include and
I dig up a quote from Werner Herzog that says “Look
into the eyes of a chicken and you will see real stupidity;
it is a kind of bottomless stupidity, a fiendish stupidity;
they are the most horrifying, cannibalistic and nightmarish
creatures in the world” and I print it on a sheet of paper
which my daughter conveniently forgets on the dining
room table when she picks up her back pack and heads
out the door to go to school the following morning. And
so I sit and write this down because in my own way I
too am descended from dinosaurs, which means that
from the dinosaurs to the chickens we are all family,
gifted in various ways and degrees, and that through
the epochs, eras, and eons, we have come to this point
on this day with the sun shining over us and a million
and one paths ahead of us through the universe, creating
sweet distances from the rough, uncertain days of our birth.

-Jose Padua

Photograph by Jose Padua

Leave a Reply

