Another Vague Recollection of the Days

Photograph by Maggie Padua
Sometime in the 70s
when I was old enough
to drink or at least
bold enough
get away with it
I drank Schlitz with
my friends because
it was the cool, cold beer
and all the other stuff
like Pabst, Bud,
and Natty Boh
were for
the assholes.
Now on those less
frequent occasions when
I drink beer I drink
something called
Dogfish Head 90 minute IPA
whatever the fuck that means
because it’s delicious and
because now
in my later years
in this life of
slowly acquired wisdom
I’ve become one
of them.

-Jose Padua

Photograph of the author by Maggie Padua

2 responses to “Another Vague Recollection of the Days

  1. This rings so true to my life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

