Meditation on the Inheritance of Dreams

Photograph by Jose Padua

When my eleven year
old daughter sings along
to the pop star’s song
but changes the lyrics
from “don’t wanna fall
in love if I ever did that
I’d have a heart attack”
to “if I ever did that
I’d have a fart attack,”
I have evidence better
than any DNA test or
Multiphasic Personality
Inventory exam that
she inherited at least
some of the connective
logic and tissue that
makes me the baddest
motherfucker in this town.

-Jose Padua

Photograph by Jose Padua

2 responses to “Meditation on the Inheritance of Dreams

  1. zacharybinks19

    Nice >:P

Leave a Reply

