Somewhere in America There’s a Broken Down Building Filled with Electric Kool Aid and Seersucker Suits

Photograph by Jose Padua
Sitting on the living room sofa
as my son watches Dora the Explorer
I start to feel drowsy then imagine
I’m wearing flared pants, bell bottoms,
and when I shut my eyes for a moment
I can see the faded blue denim of my pants legs,
absurdly wide, and I wonder just what
I might do with the extra room for my ankles
and shins and believe that maybe I can now
run faster, last longer on my feet in line
for tickets to see the Stones, and maybe read
The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test like the cool
kids were doing instead of Ulysses and
perhaps even contribute significantly
to world peace because it was the early 70s
and I had no idea what my limitations were.
My favorite dreams are those where everyone
I’ve ever loved is alive again, dreams that
come infrequently like the full blood moon
or Halley’s Comet and I need to work long
and walk hard on concrete steps and sometimes
touch the brick walls of old renovated buildings
that look nothing like they did back then
to keep the image close like a vest—
my Dad in dark blue trousers as always,
straight to the shoe, and his white dress shirt;
my Mom wearing her first pants suit,
beige, or maybe it was seersucker,
with a light, sleeved jacket, and her long
pants flared slightly at the cuffs;
each of them feeling the epic greatness
of being able to stand and the grand
and shining thrill of being alive.

-Jose Padua

Photograph by Jose Padua

3 responses to “Somewhere in America There’s a Broken Down Building Filled with Electric Kool Aid and Seersucker Suits

  1. I remember in the 70s the term ‘man’ was used like ‘like’ is now, man!!!

Leave a Reply

