Shenandoah Breakdown

Photograph by Jose Padua
One day when it’s fine
when I can give in not
up to what moves me
inside I’ll yell to the
women wearing frontier
dresses, “I can see your
vagina!” as they walk
down Main Street on
a sunny Sunday morning.
I’ll declare to the guy
in the pick-up truck
with the Confederate flag
flying out the back and
gun rack, “You’re on
the losing side!” as his
face turns ugly and he
lifts his fat fist. Then
I’ll add “Nice pants!”
and he’ll stop and say
“Thanks” because like
so many Americans he’s
proud of the way he walks.

-Jose Padua

Photograph by Jose Padua

Leave a Reply

