The Dawning of the Age of Enlightenment

Photograph by Jose Padua
Whenever I hear that
at pre-school my
three and a half-year
old son refused
to do what the other
kids were doing
and got mad when
the teachers tried
to get him to
do it I am
reminded that doing
what everyone else
is doing has
never been my
ambition or aspiration
and that if
in the future my
son ever disobeys
an order or walks
away from the gathering
crowd it just
means that he’s
learned to
apply logic to
the situation.

-Jose Padua

2 responses to “The Dawning of the Age of Enlightenment

  1. I think it’s really beautiful how you’re respecting and noticing your son’s budding individuality.

Leave a Reply

