The Clouds Out of Key in the Country Sky

Photograph by Jose Padua
I’m in the front seat driving, changing
lanes to get around a slow moving truck,
stepping on the gas as the noise of both
car and road get louder, and behind me
my wife is talking to my son, holding a
stuffed bear in front of him as he lies back
and laughs in his infant seat when I hear her
ask, “Do you see that turd in the sky?” I look
toward the horizon and up, check if there’s
traffic ahead, then look left, then right,
in search of a magical turd in the sky,
the sort of turd that my son, at eight
months, needs to see, but I see nothing
other than unremarkable clouds. Finally
I ask, “Where’s the turd?” and my wife
says “What?” and my daughter who’s
in the seat behind them echoes “What?”
and if my son could say something
other than baby talk he’d probably
say “What?” too. “Where’s the turd?
I ask again, “you asked, Do you see
that turd in the sky?
” “No,” my wife
says “I asked, Are you getting tired
of this guy?
This stuffed bear. He stopped
laughing at it.” “Oh,” I say, and I drive on,
but I’m driving slowly now, just in case.

-Jose Padua

Photograph by Jose Padua

2 responses to “The Clouds Out of Key in the Country Sky

Leave a Reply

